Friday, May 4, 2018

Virgin Atlantic catering practices net WTTC award

Virgin Atlantic Airways has won the World Travel and Tourism Council’s (WTTC) Tourism for Tomorrow Innovation Award for its efforts to “promote inclusive growth, and work toward a greener future as a result of their proactive contributions to sustainable development and the UN’s Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).” 

Following a five-stage judging process, which includes an onsite evaluation, winners of the 2018 Tourism for Tomorrow Awards were announced recently at a special ceremony during the 18th WTTC Global Summit in Buenos Aires, Argentina. 

Virgin Atlantic has worked in partnership with the Sustainable Restaurant Association (SRA) to create a framework to address the many sustainability challenges of sustainable inflight catering to include: fair farming, sustainable fish and seafood, deforestation and biodiversity, animal welfare, transparency and waste. 

“Virgin Atlantic together with the Sustainable Restaurant Association have delivered a real first here,” said Fiona Jeffery, OBE, Chair, WTTC Tourism for Tomorrow Awards. “Looking at the nature of their on-board food and drink supply to ensure that everything is sustainably sourced right across their supply chain setting a new benchmark within the aviation industry as well as raising employee and customer awareness of the sustainability issues within our food chain.” 

“When we started in 2012, the sheer scale of the project, spanning all our 30+ destinations seemed insurmountable,” said Craig Kreeger, CEO, Virgin Atlantic. “From defining what sustainability means for our food and drink, to working with suppliers to gain transparency, the project will continue to grow and evolve, and we hope that this award will focus the attention of other airlines on the challenges and opportunities in their food and drink supply chains. We couldn’t have done it without our partner the Sustainable Restaurant Association and we’re so grateful for their ongoing support.” 

The judging process uses experts from across the world to review the organization and to speak to a range of stakeholders including local residents, employees, customers, suppliers, government and academics.

Wednesday, May 2, 2018

Bottega MD honored in Toronto

The owner and Managing Director of the Italian winery and distillery Bottega received the
Sandro Bottega 
the 2018 Riedel® Winemaker of the Year Award, presented each year to a person of distinction for outstanding achievement and contribution to the wine making industry.

Sandro Bottega received the award from The Cambridge Food & Wine Society, on behalf of Riedel, the Austrian manufacturer renowned for designing and producing high quality glasses and decanters for wine and spirits tasting. The ceremony, held at Biagio Ristorante, in Toronto, was attended by Canadian authorities and European consuls, the Riedel family, Shauneen E. Bruder, Honorary Consul General of Luxembourg in Toronto and Leo Chan, President of the Cambridge Food & Wine Society. 

The Cambridge Awards of Excellence Series are presented each year to 15 persons and organizations of distinction in recognition of outstanding service to the community, and “are judged to best exemplify the spirit of Cambridge professionalism.” 

The Riedel® Winemaker of the Year Award went to Sandro Bottega for "having enchanted wine and gastronomic art lovers since 1977, in over 120 countries worldwide, with his artistic skills, the entrepreneurial ability and energy, and the quality and genuineness of the products."

"I feel deeply honoured and grateful, and I dedicate this prestigious recognition to my parents and to the whole company who has worked with creativity, passion and humbleness to produce wines, grappa and liqueurs, always in compliance with the corporate values: Quality (Italian taste and authenticity), Design (expression of the excellent aesthetic character of being made in Italy) and Social Responsibility towards the environment and the community,” said Bottega in today’s announcement of the award. 

In the past, the award has been given to great names of the world of wine, such as Robert Mondavi, U.S.A. (2005), Karl Kaiser and Donald Ziraldo, Canada (2006), Lamberto Marchesi de Frescobaldi, Italy (2007), Léon Beyer, France (2008), João Nicolau de Almedia, Portugal (2009), Miguel Torres, Spain (2014).