Wednesday, May 2, 2018

Bottega MD honored in Toronto

The owner and Managing Director of the Italian winery and distillery Bottega received the
Sandro Bottega 
the 2018 Riedel® Winemaker of the Year Award, presented each year to a person of distinction for outstanding achievement and contribution to the wine making industry.

Sandro Bottega received the award from The Cambridge Food & Wine Society, on behalf of Riedel, the Austrian manufacturer renowned for designing and producing high quality glasses and decanters for wine and spirits tasting. The ceremony, held at Biagio Ristorante, in Toronto, was attended by Canadian authorities and European consuls, the Riedel family, Shauneen E. Bruder, Honorary Consul General of Luxembourg in Toronto and Leo Chan, President of the Cambridge Food & Wine Society. 

The Cambridge Awards of Excellence Series are presented each year to 15 persons and organizations of distinction in recognition of outstanding service to the community, and “are judged to best exemplify the spirit of Cambridge professionalism.” 

The Riedel® Winemaker of the Year Award went to Sandro Bottega for "having enchanted wine and gastronomic art lovers since 1977, in over 120 countries worldwide, with his artistic skills, the entrepreneurial ability and energy, and the quality and genuineness of the products."

"I feel deeply honoured and grateful, and I dedicate this prestigious recognition to my parents and to the whole company who has worked with creativity, passion and humbleness to produce wines, grappa and liqueurs, always in compliance with the corporate values: Quality (Italian taste and authenticity), Design (expression of the excellent aesthetic character of being made in Italy) and Social Responsibility towards the environment and the community,” said Bottega in today’s announcement of the award. 

In the past, the award has been given to great names of the world of wine, such as Robert Mondavi, U.S.A. (2005), Karl Kaiser and Donald Ziraldo, Canada (2006), Lamberto Marchesi de Frescobaldi, Italy (2007), Léon Beyer, France (2008), João Nicolau de Almedia, Portugal (2009), Miguel Torres, Spain (2014).

No comments:

Post a Comment